Posted by: Lyle | July 23, 2009

Is it a wishbone? A shoe? A Beak!!!??

On Sunday morning (last), I was outside trying to get the garden to heel! Not easy when you have planted every invasive plant you know…..but I went at it!

One half of the jungle

One half of the jungle

Whilst on my hands and knees pulling up grass and nastier weeds, I pulled this up…

A wishbone?

A wishbone?

But after further inspection I had an aha moment.  A sparrow’s beak and jawbone.

Looks like a shoe

Looks like a shoe

I was so excited, never having seen a beak so close up that I called upstairs to the husband who chose to ignore me and then I called Lyle with my wonderful news.  Only a mother would take such joy in such a find!  Thanks, Lyle!

Looking at the underneath

Looking at the underneath

Lyle was also busy this week with a few more journal pages.

Summer 09

Summer 09

Looking Up

Looking Up

 

In my Dreams

In my Dreams

 

That’s it for now!  Next up will be some new goodies in the Shop!

Responses

  1. Lyle’s latest journal pages look like art quilts. Love the first one most of all.
    Interesting find, Toni!

  2. Ahhh yes…my archaeological/biologist’s interested eye says, indeed a bird’s beak. But what sort? We can’t be sure…
    Always exciting when you make finds like this Toni. My friend Alicia over at Altered Bits: http://alteredbits.wordpress.com/2009/07/17/buried-treasure/
    Now that was an exciting find too!
    Great collaging again, Lyle! Beautiful work…and do I see something of mine in there??
    Debrina

    • Wasn’t Alicia’s find a wonderful cache? Now that’s impressive! Thanks for always having something nice to say about our blog, Deb!


Categories

