Posted by: Lyle | September 4, 2010

The Travelers Angel

Some days things just fall into place.I was messing around with Portfolio oil pastels in my art journal. They have become  a favorite for softening and shading  acrylic backgrounds. On the table nearby were two pieces of a map I had stained. Lets glue them on to the page.The plaid fabric was a leftover from making rag balls. It became a crossroad between the maps. That was it for the night. Next day, as if by magic the rusty metal circle appeared on my table.Just where would it go? After adding some color with scrap paper, I saw the perfect spot! At the intersection! The collage waited several days for the finishing touch. I hadn’t thought of an angel ’til I came across the face in a drawer.  That was it!Lucky me! I didnt have to think at all. The picture created itself from stuff on my table! Does that ever happen to you?

Responses

  1. Wow I love this, it is so Lyle, so full of hope and love. Hope you had no damage from storm Earl. Yes, lets do move into the Castle in Ipswich, you bring the cleaning crew, cause it won’t be me. But we could just sit and sit and watch the waves, wouldn’t it be grand. xox Corrine

  2. Lots of wonderful elements creeping into your work Lyle. The rusty ring is perfectly positioned and I love the smudged pastel effects on the acrylic backround.

  3. perfection!! i love how you allowed the natural evolution of this piece to happen. every layer adds to the next – it is really lovely lyle. xox K

  4. Reminds me of a celtic Cross with a wisened old priest standing at the foot. The colours are beautiful.

  5. Isn’t it wonderful how collages come together sometimes– bit by bit and piece by piece all seem to fall into place– like yours did.

  6. I love it when this happens. Such a wonderful deeply symbolic piece – beautiful.

    And thanks for the tip on the Ruggles Mine. Wowwowwow! I must figure out how to visit there. Will I see you at Squam this year? Sure hope so 🙂


Categories

