Posted by: Lyle | February 22, 2011

The Button Collectors

Long years ago I had an older friend who was quite an antique expert! To raise money for her favorite charity she went to various womens groups and gave informative but funny talks on antiques. Somewhere in that talk she always managed to mention “Button Collectors”.  She would describe her vision of those slightly different folks and have everyone laughing at what they collected. All in fun.  When, later in my life, I started buying jars of buttons to use on my primitive dolls I thought of her! When I saw the photo of the three ladies in the picture below I thought” they must be button collectors!” So here’s to Aunt Kate. I’ll think of her always.

Responses

  1. Button collectors, yes, wooden spoon collectors too maybe? Great collage
    Lyle, you always bring a smile to my face with your stories. xox Corrine

  2. Great story Lyle…and those faces, they look like they could tell you a thing or two.

    x..x
    steph

  3. you will enjoy the post today:)

    happy friday!
    x..x

  4. tremendous homage! I come via Beyond Words and the Altered Page, among others… just wanted to say hi and I love your work!

  5. Thank you for visiting my blog and the lovely comments, Lyle….ooh I love your art….and will certainly be following….cheers…


Categories

