Posted by: Lyle | June 26, 2011

Day of The Dead

Ever  since Toni and I went to Mexico for a wonderful class with Anne Bagby and Lynne Perrella I have been fascinated with the way they celebrate  special days.Day of the Dead falls Nov. 1st just after our Halloween. One thing they do is to make Ofrendas (offerings ) to their deceased friends and relatives.  The Ofrenda can be quite elaborate and large or just a little remembrance. Last year I made a small one to honor my husband. It is still growing!  toni wanted me to do some DoD things for our Etsy site. If you look there you’ll see more photos and information about my latest fun!

Responses

  1. Oh, I just love this Lyle!
    What a perfectly bright way to honor your husband. He looks like a real character ( and I do believe we know that you are one too!) Our culture never allowed us to think of death and skeletons as festive and positive. I do think we need more of that and the Day of the Dead imagery is a great portal to reaching into a different sort of bereavement.

  2. So so fantastic as you know because we chatted through email.
    I love the way you celebrate! xox Corrine

  3. wonderful lyle! you’ve definitely captured the festive playful feel of dia de los muertos!! it is such a rich, and i think healthy, approach to loss and death. remembering loved ones passed through their favorite foods, music, stories – what could be better?
    xoxox K

  4. It is always interesting to see these celebrations of the dead pieces- they are always so colorful and festive– like yours is. a good way to celebrate one’s life.

  5. thank you all for looking and commenting! making the Ofrendas is fun and I too find it a good way to honor those who have gone before! I know if those folks could send us a message they would say” thanks for remembering us with a smile!”

  6. I love this Lyle. Touching but celebratory.

  7. I love this!! you have such a unique style…….LOVE!!!!


Categories

