Posted by: Lyle | July 16, 2012

Carving Stamps 101

This spring when I was attending a workshop with Lynne Perrella and Anne Bagby , Anne challenged me to carve a 12×12 stamp! She was the person who got me into this carving addiction and she encourages me often by email. I kept avoiding the issue– thats a lot of rubber to mess up! But last week I got on it and here is a partial picture of the results. my printer wont do 12x 12! When printing you lay the paper atop of the stamp instead of under and that in itself is a mental challenge! I still hesitate! But the whole idea is great for backgrounds. I have a ways to go before I’m satisfied but I am glad I got started. That seems to be the trouble with anything new-  getting started, but you can do it! Just hold your nose and dive in!

 

Responses

  1. nice Lyle! Have you ever used printmaking inks to print with? I need to try this. Seems it would be hard to get the stamping ink distributed over the 12×12 surface.

  2. Wow! Very impressive! I think your stamp is wonderful and at 12″ x 12″ more of printing plate than a stamp. Stephanie has a good idea about using printing inks…or acrylics even. Roll it on the stamp/plate with a brayer and have a go at printing it.

  3. Your circles are staying with you. Fantastic job friend. I have a slab of material downstairs, might have to dive in to one big stamp. YOu have inspired me to give it a try. This would work great on your tablecloth projects. xox

  4. 12 X 12…. that IS daring! It’s turned out well, Lyle.

  5. This is a good ambition. I have never carved rubber! It feel scary, so I can see your hesitation. But it worked! And to take a class with Perrella and Bagby… what a dream!


Categories

